Pandora Radio

Pandora is my favorite website and technology that I use for finding new music. I have a pretty large collection of music that I have curated in my iTunes library, but after a while I need to branch out and look for new stuff, and Pandora is the perfect way to do that. I generally find an artist that I’ve been listening to a lot and create a radio station based on that artist. Pandora then gives you a listening experience made up of songs by that artist as well as similar artists that it thinks you will like.

(This blog is not sponsored by Pandora, I promise!)

What I like to do is create a station with a specific artist and then select “Add Variety” so that it can choose songs from more than one genre. These are two of my all-time favorite combinations:

  1. Alt-J + blink-182

Alt-J is one of the most unique bands that has emerged in the past five or so years; they have an indie pop sound which appeals to a lot of people. However, listening to only that kind of music can get old quickly. I also have a thing for 90s rock and alternative, so adding blink-182 gives the station some good variety with a different genre. This station isn’t great for serious study or focusing, but if you are multitasking (or procrastinating), this is an excellent choice to quietly rock out to. It’s the perfect mix of new and nostalgic.

2. Corinne Bailey Rae + The Fray

This is my go-to station for serious work or studying. It’s relaxing and familiar but won’t make you fall asleep. Corinne Bailey Rae’s best music is from 2006 so similar artists will be from around that time. The Fray is a little more versatile; Pandora will suggest a wide variety of artists that are “similar” to The Fray, which keeps this station from getting old.

 

One of the best things about Pandora is the different versions and covers of songs that you might not be able to find anywhere else. Here are some great covers that I found from Pandora:

Heart It Races – Dr. Dog

I Miss You – 5 Seconds of Summer

No Diggity – Chet Faker

Crystalized – Gorillaz

Leave a Reply

